We’re Back! Review Of My 2015 Read List

Holy smokes! I started writing again in this blog around the turn of the new year, but life quickly got in the way, and I was unable to keep up the pace. When we last spoke, I was speaking on novellas; shortly before that, I was giving my 2015 year in preview. I laid out numerous novels that I was looking forward to, as well as some I was cautiously optimistic about.

In the name of keeping things simple, I’m going to give a brief summary – a followup to the previous post. For starters, I’ve read 85 books so far in 2015 (well ahead of my pace!). For those wondering, here’s a full list. Not all have been from this year, which skews that number quite a bit. For now,

I’ll give a top 10 of 2015 published books:

images

10: The Fifth Season by NK Jemisin (review)

9: The End of All Things by John Scalzi (review)

8: The Grace of Kings by Ken Liu (review)

7: The Autumn Republic by Brian McClellan (review)

6: The Skull Throne by Peter V Brett (review)

5: Half The World by Joe Abercrombie (review)

4: The Liar’s Key by Mark Lawrence (review)

3: Golden Son by Pierce Brown (review)

2: Beacon 23 by Hugh Howey (review)

1: Knight’s Shadow by Sebastian de Castell (review)

Before I give any kind of breakdown, I need to say that there have been a lot of great books released this year. To honor those, here’s my…

Honorable mention:

1: Time Salvager by Wesley Chu (review)

2: The Three-Body Problem by Cixin Liu (review)

3: Half A War by Joe Abercrombie (review)

4: The Unremembered (A.D.E.) by Peter Orullian (review)

5: Those Above by Daniel Polansky (review)

download (1)

And while we’re doing lists, let me throw out my…

Favorite novellas/short stories:

3: Shadowgirl by Kate Ristau (review)

2: A Drink Before We Die by Daniel Polansky (review)

1: In Midnight’s Silence by T. Frohock (review)

And of course, this wouldn’t be complete without my..

Anticipated/forthcoming reads of 2015! 

There’s still 3 months of year left, and some seriously exciting books coming out soon. In this list, I will also add 2015 releases that I have not yet read but plan to:

  • Price of Valor by Django Wexler (July)
  • The Providence of Fire by Brian Staveley (January)
  • Of Noble Family by Mary Robinette Kowal (April)
  • Sword of the North by Luke Scull (May)
  • The Water Knife by Paolo Bacigalupi (January)
  • Without Light Or Guide by T. Frohock (November)
  • Shadows of Self by Brandon Sanderson (October)

I plan on getting back into the groove on this blog, and reviewing books as I read them, and hopefully getting some pre-release reviews from some of my favorite authors who have ARCs releasing soon!

Leave a Reply

