2015 – Year in Preview

Whereas the previous post I made went over what I read and loved that came out in 2014, 2015 is upon us and has a full plate of exciting books. I’m going to go over the ones that excite me the most, are on the ‘must read’, and some that I am interested in but don’t know a ton about, or am unsure if I will find time for them.

Each year, I try and lay out what my buying/preorder schedule will be, shortly before dates are changed, new stuff is announced, and my budget is blown on collectible novellas from SubPress. However, I’ll put it this way – even if I opted to only read new, 2015-release books all year, I’d still not get through my entire list. So I’ve pared it down to just books I’m the most interested in.

Without further ado…

The “Must Consume” List:

  • Golden Son by Pierce Brown (January)

Pierce’s Red Rising was one of the smash hits of 2014, and was #3 on my top books from last year. The sequel promises to grow on the base set in the first novel. I’m reading it currently, and it’s already amazing

  • Half the World by Joe Abercrombie (February)

Joe Abercrombie is easily one of my favorite writers alive, and any book of his is an instant must-read. Considering how good the first entry in this “YA” series was, Half the World has to jump to the top of any list.

  • The Autumn Republic by Brian McClellan (March)

After two excellent efforts in Promise of Blood and The Crimson Campaign, followed by a string of very well written novellas, Brian has set quite the high bar for the completion of his debut trilogy.

  • The Skull Throne by Peter V Brett (March)

Following the cliffhanger  ending to The Daylight War, there are a lot of questions left unanswered and storylines yet completed in Brett’s Demon Cycle  series.

  • The Liar’s Key by Mark Lawrence (June)

Mark did a 180° from his work in the Broken Empire  series with the release of last year’s Prince of Fools. He went with a more lighthearted approach – more humor, less grimdark. It worked brilliantly, and cemented Mark’s status as one of fantasy’s rising stars.

  • The Price of Valour by Django Wexler (July)

The Shadow Throne took the world Django created in The Thousand Names and expanded upon it significantly, brining much more magic, political intrigue, and his trademark military accuracy into the fold. I’m quite excited to see where else he can take the series.

  • Shadows of Self by Brandon Sanderson (November)

Just based on the preview chapter Brandon read on his tour in early 2014, it became obvious that the next installment in his Wax and Wayne era Mistborn novels was going to be a riot.

The “Relative Confidence” List:

  • Gemini Cell by Myke Cole (January)

Myke’s unique brand of modern military fantasy is a blast to read, and this new series promises to be as exciting as the previous entries.

  • The Providence of Fire by Brian Staveley (January)

Another one I feel safe about – The Emperor’s Blades was a fantastic and fun book, and Brian is an A+ fellow.

  • Of Noble Family by Mary Robinette Kowal (April)

Mary is an absolutely brilliant writer, and the world and magic she’s created in her Glamorous Histories is more than enough to pull me well outside of my normal comfort zone and engrossed in her novels.

  • Sword Of The North by Luke Scull (May)

This one could go on the following list, but I enjoyed the books predecessor, The Grim Company, quite a bit, and have been eagerly awaiting the second entry in the series. I hope Luke can deliver.

The “Not Sure What I’m Gonna Get But Still Has My Attention” List:

  • Firefight by Brandon Sanderson (January)

Brandon writes good books – books I enjoy. His YA stuff? Well, not as much. Steelheart had some promise but also some glaring issues, and I’m lukewarm on what I expect from Firefight.

  • The Grace of Kings by Ken Liu (April)

I’ve read several of Ken’s short works in various anthologies, and his prose and mastery of language left me intrigued and interested in seeing some full format. I’m not sure how it’ll translate, but I’m cautiously optimistic.

  • Armada  by Ernest Cline (July)

Ready Player One was a brilliant novel, creative and lovable, and is one of my favorites ever. Armada promises to be a departure from RPO, but early reviews label it a bit boring and too much like Last Starfighter or Ender’s Game. Time will tell – been waiting a long time for this one.

There are quite a few more books I have some interest in that I did not write up, but my mid-year review will probably have that (if I keep writing that long). I would love to see some things in 2015, such as Winds of Winter, The Thorn of Emberlain, Doors of Stone, Skybreaker, or Hymn, but I’m not optimistic to see any of those. Leave a comment if you think I missed any obvious books that should be discussed – but chances are if they aren’t on the list, I didn’t care enough about them to flag them down on the calendar 🙂

One thought on “2015 – Year in Preview

Leave a Reply

